Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    My first and last diving lesson

    April 11, 2022 on the Maldives ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    As I mentioned before, Seb is a diver and obviously, I had to try it as well. As I have never had a lesson before, this was a first. I joined a group of "first-ies" and explained to the teacher that I experienced some problems when flying to the Maldives. I've never had issues with my ears before that, so I was quite concerned about it. The teacher said that I should try the diving anyway and see whether my ears would hurt when going underwater. So I put on all the gear, went through all the theory and did the first steps with these huge swim fins and the heavy backpack. Once in the water, I did all the training bits. And then it was time to test my ears: I put my ears underwater (approx. 30 cm) and they exploded with hurt. I pushed myself up and claimed to the teacher that I couldn't bare the hurt. So I had no choice but to exit the water, struggle back to the diving centre and put the dream to dive to a rest. I actually had even worse problems with my ears flying back home, so back in Germany I immediately made an appointment at the doctors. He examined me and found nothing. I reckon my hurt is just imagined... Such a shit show.Read more