Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Alfonso, Interview, and Alameda Park²

    October 5, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Another interesting day today. I started the day thinking it would be a slow day with little to do. I needed to do my laundry and I was going to meet Dave for lunch but that was it. Alameda Park is a large park with walking paths, and is just at the top of the hill with a view of the old city, so that was a great place to start. I was able to get some exercise and say the Rosary before I met Dave. When I got to the side of the park with the view of the old city I could see the spires of the Cathedral and a couple of other churches and also a square tower that I was not familiar with. When it was time to go meet Dave I decided to go the long way and stop by Sybille's house and hang our laundry which then required me to walk across Obidoiro Plaza in front of the Cathedral. As I was hurrying across the plaza I recognized Alfonso who I walked the Inglés Camino with two years ago and who only speaks Spanish as he lives outside of Madrid! When I got to Pilgrim House Gail wanted to interview me and then Dave and have each of us tell a Camino story for a project that they are working on. I told the story about when I walked with Alfonso and there was no coffee. I think you have all heard it. Later Dave and I were walking back to Sybille's house, saw the lights of the Cathedral from the park and spent the next half hour walking back and forth across town finally figuring out that the tower we were seeing from the park was the bell tower of St Agustín where we had been going to church. What a full day.Read more