Satellit
Visa pÄ kartan
  • Day 17 - Cabazon

    18 maj 2023, Förenta staterna ⋅ ☀ 81 °F

    Miles hiked: 18.6 m
    Elevation: 4650 descent
    Campsite location: mm 216
    Weather: sunny and 90s 😅
    One word to describe the day: unique

    Today was quite the day. We hit the 200 mile marker!! I started the day with an 11 mi descent towards I-10. Once we reached I-10, we went into cabazon to resupply.

    The descent down was beautiful and winding. We had great views of San jacinto in the background. Once we got to the valley floor it was hot, around 95°. We had three more miles to walk in the heat until we reached the underpass. I was so hot by the time I got there. I was so grateful for the shade and definitely envious of people with umbrellas.

    Usually there is a Trail Angel at the underpass called Mary. She likes to bring drinks and grill some food. But, supposedly she's on a cruise right now😛 however, there was a different guy there who had some goodies to surprise us with and he gave us a hitch into cabazon. So far I've had luck with easy hitches. Once we got to cabazon we got in and out burgers. Then went to Starbucks for a coffee, AC and charge our electronics. We resuppled 4 days worth of 4 to get us to big bear. The market had all sorts of delicious hiking snacks but it was quite expensive. Supposedly they are famous for their date milkshakes but I had already had a milkshake and in and out so I didn't get it. We then ubered back to the underpass and continued on with our day.

    We started the Ascent towards white water preserve, saying goodbye to San jacinto. There is a wind farm we walked through. We spotted a turtle on the trail and there are group of biologists here specifically to keep an eye on the turtles to make sure they don't go into the wind farm. The biologist that came to watch the turtle said that once a turtle is spotted they have to follow the turtle around all day until they're sure it's far enough from the wind farm. If a turtle is killed by the wind farm it cost the farm a million dollars! You would think that they could put up a fence or something 😂 The wind farm had lots of snacks for hikers in their office which was a fun surprise. I grabbed an ice pop and doritos for the road.

    We ended up doing another 7.5 miles after our resupply. Finding a camp right before sunset. I'm tired. It's windy and my tent is set up in sand. Really hoping I set it up well enough to stay upright through the night đŸ€ž
    LĂ€s mer