Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Our first rest day

    March 21 in South Africa ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    We were awake at 5:30am and up at 6am. I peaked out the back curtains to see a bunch of Warthog laying down waiting for us to get up. I made coffee whilst Ellie undone the patio doors and then we through out a bucket of food. From nowhere a flurry of animals turned up that we didn’t even know were there. Impala, Kudu, more warthog. We felt abit sorry for the warthog that had been waiting for us all night.
    At 8am the animals started to leave but then a family of Mongoose came by. They all sat eagerly at the bottom of the patio to see if we would feed them. Unfortunately we had run out of eggs so Ellie gave them a cut up plum. They didn’t seem overly impressed with fruit so I promised them eggs for later and then they ran off.
    At 9am we went to Daisys Den, the game food store to get some more animal feed. This time we only brought 10kg of pellets but we ordered some hay to be delivered later. Then we went back to the house to wait for the hay. Just as we pulled into the drive I said “we forgot to get the eggs”. Ellie said “ don’t worry about it the mongoose probably won’t come back” so we went inside and I opened the patio doors, sat down with a cup of tea and then the mongoose came around the side of the house and up onto the patio and sat on the steps just staring at us.
    Bollocks……… I knew I should have gone back for eggs.
    I told the mongoose I’d forgotten but it was Ellie’s fault because I said we’d go back and she said no. They gave her a very guilty look and then went and sat by the camper.
    I made Ellie finish her tea and then we locked up, set the alarms, weaved our way through the family of mongoose to the camper and set off back to the shops. We brought a huge tray of 36 eggs and Ellie hard boiled 18 of them and then we waited and waited but the mongoose didn’t return.
    The hay delivery turned up and Ellie and I carried it to the back and broke it up and within minutes we had a herd of impala and warthog snuffling around trying to get the pellets we had buried in the hay.
    For the rest of the day we just chilled out. Ellie wasn’t feeling great probably because of the lack of sleep so she went for a lay down and once all the animals had finished messing about in the hay I went inside and watched the tablet for a bit.
    At 5pm we headed out for dinner, back to the giraffe pub & grill and I found an Eisbein on the menu. This is the first one I’d had since we got here. Eisbein is pork on the bone, slow cooked until it’s falling off and the wrapped in breadcrumbs and deep fried. It’s a German dish and is served with sauerkraut and is probably the best crackling you can get. I really enjoyed it.
    We got back to the house at 6:30pm and Ellie put bananas out for the bushbabies. Then we put the TV on and turned all the lights off so we could see outside. I’d already decided I was having a night off from being a bushbaby botherer.
    At 7pm movement caught our eye outside and we watched the bowl on the fence while a bushbaby jumped from the tree onto the bowl and grabbed a piece of banana. As he jumped off another smaller one jumped from a different branch into the bowl. Wow, we had 2 bushbabies.
    We sat inside watching as at first they took it in turns to jump in the bowl then they got in together. They looked like they were having a bath.
    By 8pm Ellie was done for the day and as load shedding was happening between 9pm and 11pm we decided to go to bed and put the air con on to start to cool the room down. I sat up until 9:30pm watching the tablet whilst Ellie went straight to sleep.
    Read more