Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Maldives - Day 7

    July 27, 2018 on the Maldives ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    I tell you what, this waking up in paradise thing is not getting any easier. After breakfast this morning we joined Richard & Rachel at deckchairs on the sand overlooking the lagoon. After reading, relaxing & ordering pizza &.... more cocktails, a spot of Stand Up Paddleboarding was in order. Despite my best efforts to appear like I was coordinated, it was clear to me that this recreational sport was a heck of a lot harder to master than it looks. I am sure I gave the locals a good laugh. Once I had sort of 'got it', I was so exhausted & was happy to hand it back to the team & swap it out for my snorkel gear, a recreational activity I much more accustomed to.

    An afternoon siesta exposed more than just a sunkissed glow on the backs of my legs & Paul's back. We were looking a bit like overcooked lobsters. After lathering ourselves in moisturising lotion we covered up & headed up to the Reception area where we boarded our traditional Maldivian boat - a Dhoni, for a Sunset Dolphin Cruise. What a spectacular experience! There were so many different dolphin pods frolicking & playing in the wake created by the boats. Their acrobatic displays were incredible & drew lots of oohhhhs & ahhhhs from their adoring public. As an added bonus I spotted a number of flying fish, hovering & darting above the surface like hummingbirds. It reminded me of my recently departed Father & his love of the open sea. My Dad would have loved it here, a deep sea fisherman's paradise. A very special experience indeed.

    Back on dry land we were welcomed by staff to a sunset barbecue on the beach surrounding the lagoon. What a unique & breathtakingly beautiful plan! All of the kitchen staff & their appliances had been relocated to the shoreline for this special event. Nothing was a problem & the layout & planning was executed with precision & eloquence. The locals performing traditional music & dance was an added bonus, their rhythmic drumming was mesmerizing & accompanied the evening perfectly.

    A luxurious, deep bath in mineral salts topped the night off & took the sting out of my sunburn. Before going to bed we set the alarm for 0115 so that we would not miss the climax of the Blood Moon event occuring overnight. We were not disappointed. The view was spectacular!
    Read more