Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 132

    Roma : Take 2

    May 12, 2015 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    I've made it to Rome! I’m here staying near the Termini station, but we’ve already had an accident and I’m currently limping my way around this historic city. But let me start at the beginning.

    I arrived yesterday from Naples and settled into my hostel, the Freedom Traveller hostel. I am really enjoying this hostel. The rooms are massive, there are lots of bathrooms, we get a free breakfast in the form of pure sugar (well sugar coated pastries) each morning, there is a little garden out the back and free wine and nibbles are put on every night, which makes the place very social indeed.

    My favourite bit is the windows. I’m on the 3rd floor and get to open up the wooden doors out onto the street below. I can hear the street artists playing music, see people sitting in restaurants eating pizza and watch travellers wander up and down trying to find their hostel. I love hearing the music wander up into our room. It’s so Italian!

    After exploring the local grocery shop this afternoon and purchasing some olives, cheese, prosciutto and fizzy red wine (I do not recommend this) I sat in the garden and chatted with all the new visitors to the hostel. As I’ve already been to Rome before and seen the major sights, I didn’t really want to see them again, but I did want to see the Colosseum at night. So after saying goodbye to my new friends I walked down to the Colosseum, it’s about 25 mins from my hostel.

    It was just beautiful. All light up and standing tall. There were just enough people sitting around to make to feel really comfortable and fun. Everyone was enjoying the view and the fact that they were in Roma. After walking around a few times and taking some pictures I headed back to my hostel.

    I was walking down a set of beautiful stairs that was partially in the dark. As I walked down admiring its beauty, literally just thinking how it wasn’t that unsafe to be there, I slipped on some pasta and fell down twisting my ankle as I went. The people ahead of me turned to see me fall and then just kept walking – very lovely I thought.

    I slipped in the pasta getting back up and hobbled home thinking, aside from the pasta now all over my pants, I’ve got away scot-free here! Unfortunately no. I woke in the middle of the night in a lot of pain. So I texted mum haha, help me!! So my foot is now strapped and I hobble everywhere. This has slowed me down quite a lot.

    And I’m a fast walker! Limping around only makes you more of a target for all of the pesky 'do you want a selfie stick’ or ‘can I sell you this tour’ people. But I did have a little laugh to myself at the irony of what had just happened. It’s a story at least!

    Instead of exploring the city and hitting up a number of food places that was recommended, I very slowly made my way to The Vatican today. I took the Metro and tried desperately to weave past every person trying to sell me a ticket to the fast queue.

    I sat in the St Peter’s Square eating my lunch and taking in the view. The line never stopped growing for entry. I went to the post office and posted a couple of cards home – keep a look out for those, and wandered around a bit, but in the end I gave up and headed back to the hostel to rest my foot. Tonight I enjoyed the company of a few Americans and other hostellers in the free wine and sharing stories of the day.

    Where I stayed
    Freedom Traveller Hostel - Via Gaeta 25, Rome, Italy

    Fab hostel that is close to the main train station. Staff are pretty helpful. There is a little garden, social area, coffee machine, free computer and kitchen for use downstairs. I was on the 3rd floor. The room was huge and had 4 single beds in it, plus a desk and cupboards. We opened out our windows on to the street below. Bathrooms were good. Breakfast is free, but is coffee and pastries - the Italian way. Also free wine and nibbles from 7pm each night. It makes for a very social evening with the other hostellers. I was happily stay here again.
    Read more