Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Llandovery campsite end of day 18

    14 Jun 2018, Wales ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    Thursday: I entered Llandovery over the Waterloo bridge (I love the way we British rub the French noses in it!). Then walked almost a mile through the town past Llandingat CiW church, through an industrial estate, past Llandovery RFC (Rugby football club) then finally into the Llandovery Caravan and Camping site. Warden Karen was very welcoming and showed me the facilities on site. Fee £8. I pitched in glorious sunshine with a little of the earlier breeze which soon dried the wet tent fly sheet I had packed in the rain this morning. On Karen's recommendation I walked back into town to supper at The Whitehall on excellent Fish cakes, salad and chilli dip followed by chocolate Brioche with custard washed down with local Cider. Only downside to the day was an ache just left of my right shoulder which I had not had at the end of the previous 2 days.

    Photographs shows a view of Llandovery as I approached it from a hillside to the south of the town and Llandingat CiW Church with a rather unusual fortification atop the tower.

    11 miles from Llanddeusant to Llandovery completed at end of 17th day of walking. Weather rain at first, giving way late morning to sunny intervals with strong north westery breeze. From around 3pm glorious sunshine and wind abated.

    This is the end of my walk through Wales for now. I return home tomorrow for a holiday in France. Arriving in Llandovery is the end of the 'Southern section' of the Cambrian Way. I have the Central and Northern sections to complete. To date I have completed 111.3 miles and 27,465 feet of ascent of the Cambrian Way as well as a number of additional miles and ascent for diversions for overnight accomodation and navigational errors.
    Baca lagi