Satellite
Show on map
  • Waun-oer trig point

    August 15, 2018 in Wales

    Wednesday: 600 yards after crossing tricky Bwlch / Col arrived at Waun-oer, the last high point of the day 2198'/670m. Followed by a mile and a half of further walking along ridge line south west, still following fence, and sheltered by a forest. No let up in the low cloud, and now raining hard. I was soaked as my Musto MPX Gore-Tex jacket. Arcteryx waterproof trousers and Zamberlan VIOX GTX Gore-Tex boots were all letting in rain. Does anyone own 'waterproofs' that really are?

    Last turn was to north west, off the ridge line, down hill. Pleased that next navigational point, a minor road that is part of the national cycle trail, came into view sooner than I expected as I was wet, weary and dispirited. From here I could see traffic on the distant A487. A short ascent from the minor road, then a 10 minute descent along a rocky path down to A487.
    Read more