Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Confusing Times

    May 5, 2019 in Morocco ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    During the evening a fact came to light that none of us had expected even though, had we thought about it, a clue had been given when the various airlines we’d travelled with had sent emails notifying that the return flight times had changed. I never realised why, thinking it was simply a technical or logistics reason, and I know others never saw the implications either. You see, Morocco had decided to change their clocks but not when we’re used to at the end of March but now, in May, perhaps to coincide with the start of Ramadan. So what, I sense you are thinking.

    The problem was we didn’t seem to be able to get a definitive answer to whether or not the clocks were changing, by how much or in what direction. The clocks changing was one of the factors that led to everyone going to bed instead of staying up for photography because the rumour was we were to lose a hour of sleep. But I decided to stay up and get the photo anyway, as did Monique if course, and I set my alarm accordingly so I would be up in time for our early start for our continued journey to the Sahara. The alarm rang and I dragged myself out of bed, sorted myself out and took my things down to reception ready to meet the others, but no-one turned up and for me that was certainly a mixture of the strange and the slightly worrying. Why weren’t they down for breakfast?

    Whilst I waited I decided to have a look around. When we arrived last night we’d checked-in then gone straight for our meal and it was dark then. I wanted to see where we were and what was here but couldn’t go too far of course, because the others would be down any minute. But I only had to walk around the corner to be amazed at what I discovered.

    The photos in this footprint show what I saw, not only the gorgeous golden light of the morning but a sandstone city on the hill on the other side of the river. It was an amazing sight and so worth seeing even if it was so early ... and early it was because the clocks had gone the other way to what I expected, so I was up and about absolutely ages before anyone else. It was worth it though, and when the others arrived we had breakfast then climbed aboard our bus to continue our journey.

    Ait Ben Haddou was definitely a photographic opportunity missed. Can you imagine the possibilities here not only at sunrise, but at sunset and during the night for astrophotography? Maybe one day a return visit? Who knows. By the way, look out for the snow on the Atlas Mountains in the background of the second photo ... it looks like snow, I wonder if it is.
    Read more