Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 85

    Madrid

    November 7, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    I would never have dreamed that this little break would be so nice. ❤️
    Besides the impressions of the city and the beautiful moments with my cousin Aurelia*, her husband John*, son Jack* and the pet dog Pino*, this short break changed my strategy for the rest of the trip.

    But one thing at a time.

    After the gruelling last few weeks through all the mountains of northern Spain, I rejoice in the banalities of a stationary life: the flowing coffee, the hot shower and the ever-ready bed. 🥰
    I spend a whole eight days here on foot as a tourist and it's wonderful.

    Together with my cousin, I discover the city, we walk through the different districts and I really like it. I criss-cross the city on buses, the metro and local trains and lose myself there for several hours without a specific destination.

    I eat churros for the first time - deep-fried dough sticks that you dip in chocolate - and which are better kept away from open flames because of their energy content 😉 .

    I meet Ruven* and Steven*, two friends from Karlsruhe who have lived here for years and spend a typical Spanish day with me in a market hall. There I can once again watch with amusement the growth of groups in Spain. Everyone brings a few friends and in no time at all the whole bar is occupied. 😆

    The highlight for me is the evening at the houseof John's* parents, where I get an insight into Spanish culture that I hadn't had before. We eat the best tortillas and I see how they are made (and how much effort they take).

    The evening also shows me that I have been missing cultural exchange so far. I have seen the country but only got to know the culture superficially.
    It is questionable whether I will be able to learn much more about countries and its people when I travel, but at least I want to try.

    * names changed
    Read more