Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 120

    Crazy Weather

    December 12, 2022 in Portugal

    The wind is merciless and hits my bike here directly on the coast almost unhindered and pushes it backwards. Too bad I want to go this way and there's a strong wind for the next few days. 😊
    The only thing that helps is to downshift. Music lifts my mood and makes me feel like I'm doing a power exercise.

    The weather forecast is not a reliable aid to decision-making at the moment. Normally you can predict rain and showers a few hours in advance. At least the weather radar has always been reliable here in the past.
    With this in mind, I try to plan the next two days and create an hour-based timetable between the wet phases. My three meteorological sources give me three different answers. All forecast a mix of rain, thunderstorms and drizzle. 😂
    The Portuguese civil defence sends me a short message warning of storm surges in my region. 😬

    In the end, I just set off - with the chair-dancing strategy: make fast progress between the villages and check each time in the villages how the weather will develop.
    The gloomy forecasts do not match my own observations, because the sky is overcast but so thin that I can see the sun shining through now and then.

    Sure, it drizzles from time to time, but it's not as bad as forecast.
    However, I can rely on the headwind 😉 .
    Read more