Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 218

    Aziza Cave

    20 maart 2023, Marokko

    For two hours we have been standing at a crossroads near Mesky and keeping our thumbs out. We actually only want to go 53 km further and see a cave, but the area is so remote that no one else wants to go there on a Monday morning.
    The mood is still good, I have got used to the new rhythm of life and now know how slowly clocks sometimes tick.
    We stand and wait. No one gives us a lift.

    A few taxis came and went, but all were full to capacity. Private people have not wanted to take us so far, many were in expensive cars. My observation is that the old, heavily used cars stop more often.

    I tell Ilyass that we have to change our strategy and go to one of the next bigger towns. The current plan is not working.
    He says that we should continue as before. Someone will come and take us.
    I say I will give this hope another 7 minutes.
    Seven minutes pass.
    I take my backpack and want to stand at the other side of the road to increase our chances.
    I barely get 50 metres when I hear him calling. He has conjured up a car from somewhere that will take us after all. It's amazing.
    The driver not only takes us to the crossroads, but even drives us to our destination.

    The cave is huge, over 4 km long. In the entrance area we meet a population of bats. Cute little creatures.

    For about 30 minutes we walk deeper and deeper into the mountain and pass through large caves, narrow passages and clayey passages.
    Meer informatie