Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 408

    Personal development

    September 26, 2023 in Hungary ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Budapest is becoming an enriching experience for me in several ways. On the one hand, I like the city life and architecture there very much and I walk through the city almost daily with my camera to take more pictures of the architecture.
    On the other hand, the time in Budapest brings me a lot further in my personal development after I get to know two people there.

    Gabriela has separated from her senior hiking group and instead of flying home immediately like the others, she prefers to visit Budapest alone, having been here before. It's her first holiday alone and none of her friends wanted to join her, but she didn't want to miss out on it either.

    Hundreds of questions buzz through her mind:
    Why go on such a long trip alone?
    Doesn't one feel lonely?
    Aren't the relationships you make on the road too superficial?
    How do you deal with insecurity?
    Why don’t you use slippers in the communal showers? 😂

    I admire her courage to make such a radical decision at her age and rather travel alone than not at all. I share my experiences with her and she helps me reflect on past situations and adopt different perspectives with good conversations.

    On another evening, I meet Caro. She is also a long-term traveller and we share some stories and experiences. Among long-term travellers, the conversation is completely different than with passers-by or weekend travellers, because you often have had similar experiences and the general initial questions (see above) are unnecessary.

    Getting to know each other awakens new questions in me, old questions are answered anew, priorities of my principles are worked out, questioned and re-sorted.
    This time I am also breaking through several hurdles that have been building up in me for ages and that have stood in the way of my development so far. It is an incredibly power-sapping process that is triggered every now and then and leaves me each time with a better understanding of myself, my life and my principles.
    Read more