Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47–49

    Camino Day 38: Fisterra

    September 17, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌬 18 °C

    If I had more time, I would’ve walked to Fisterra (the end of the earth) but instead, I caught a bus in the evening, aiming to have a full day in town before returning the day after. I arrived at my albergue and after collecting the last stamps to complete my pilgrim’s passport, I went to sleep and for the first time in a couple weeks, I didn’t have to set my alarm. 😴

    In the morning it was raining so I enjoyed a very long breakfast and then set off towards the Km 0 point near the lighthouse. Since Fisterra is still part of the Camino, it wasn’t a surprise bumping into Standa on my way up. He was part of the last 100km crew.

    It was a short 3km walk there and the ocean views along the way and from the lighthouse were stunning! At the top, I found a comfy rock and sketched for a couple hours, reflecting on my journey and everything I had experienced. 🎨

    When I finished, I went back into town to sort out dinner before returning to the lighthouse again to catch the sunset! It’d been a while since I’d seen the sun set on the horizon. 🌅

    Seeing the sunset here was also quite special. For thousands of years, it was believed that this place was the end of the world and that beyond this point there was nothing more than a place where the sun went out every night among sea monsters. 🤷🏻‍♀️

    After the most spectacular sunset and twilight, I walked back in the dark and went straight to sleep. A bus tomorrow morning would take me back to Santiago for one last hurrah before leaving for Madrid. 🚊
    Read more