Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    The Eagle has Landed

    June 7, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 31 °C

    I am finally here, at the Everglades National Park!!! Been on my bucket list since watching Miami Vice in the 80s, and before I even knew what a bucket list was.

    The journey from Ivybridge to Heathrow to Lisbon to Miami to Homestead took a long time and I am shattered. Random occurrences were the man dressed in full Jedi Knight gear plus full length light sabre on the plane; Lisbon Airport was chaotic and unpleasant; Miami public transport staff assisted me by shouting and getting me to buy the wrong (more expensive) ticket; being picked up by one-eyed Mexican Uber driver who was as sweet as he was scary looking.... and my strange Airbnb host who was lying in a darkened bedroom with the door open when I arrived. I had let myself in as per his instructions because he wasn't meant to be there.

    Today I collected a hire car, which is from an individual named Miguel, through a company called Turo. Basically, the Airbnb of cars. I wasn't really sure what the car would be like and even less sure of my driving on the other side of the road.

    I went to the supermarket to buy some food supplies and was amazed at high their food prices are.... makes Waitrose look like Lidl. £5.50 for a bag of Doritos, £3 can of tuna, £2 small can of sweetcorn etc

    I am going into the National Park proper now so will be out of phone reception for 2 days.

    And I can't shift a headache which I am pretty sure is tea withdrawal symptoms!
    Read more