Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Welcome to Quito!

    June 13, 2023 in Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    I had an over chatty plane companion but really I was just hoping my ride from the airport would definitely be there. And he was, a smiling Marcelo, who offered me marshmallows and water as a welcome gift

    I spoke to him in Spanish and there was a lot I couldn't express, but it was probably the longest conversation in Spanish I have had. And it tired me out!

    Marcelo was telling me this was a dangerous area as we pulled up to my hostel. Mmm. I got to my room, basic and cheap and grateful to put my stuff down. It was so so noisy with wooden floorboards, paper thin walls and the kitchen/living room right next to my bedroom. However, when they quietened down by midnight, it was then very quiet. And cold!!! After Florida 31-34°C , I wasn't prepared.

    In the morning, I experienced the strange elongation of time that I physically feel when I am in the Equator. I don't know what it is, but mornings pass gloriously slowly.

    I was a bit overwhelmed and apprehensive to go out, partly because of safety and partly because of Spanish. I put my phone in my zipped cardigan pocket which I wore, and had $20 cash in my pockets and around my waist belt. And a handbag with water and sunscreen. I walked out and my senses were assaulted with the traffic, the noise, the calls of street sellers, people talking to me and not understanding. I am in the historic centre which attracts tourists. I saw them with their phones and maps out.

    I bought some snacks from a supermarket (so I wouldn't have to speak Spanish) as I hadn't eaten since the plane. Eventually, I wanted to return to the hostel and couldn't find my way back. I realised I would have to use my phone for the map so I found a park where lots of people were relaxing, with phones, chatting. And I realised my phone was gone!

    I have been on Quito streets for less than an hour, not flaunting anything, and my phone was taken.

    All my 7000 photos of the last few years, all my travel plans, boarding pass apps, online banking - everything gone.

    I had to buy a new phone which has cost my entire Ecuador accommodation budget for a month.... But without my passwords, I can't get in to email, Facebook, banks, Samsung or Google account as they all send codes to my lost phone, or email I can't access. I can't even redownload the banking apps from abroad.

    Please God hope the thief doesn't spend money on some apps which have automatic payment set up, like Amazon.

    I am feeling particularly stressed about what the thief could do and how I am going to manage going forward.

    So yes, welcome to bloody Quito!
    Read more