Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Adios Quito

    June 22, 2023 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Last night, had a couple of drinks in happy hour at my hostel with Caroline (traveling with her 2 young kids) - we have seen each a bit these past few days and it was nice company. The safe rooftop cafe was a lovely setting, as the sky turned dark and the city lit up, and we dinner Alpaca wool ponchos as it turned chilly.

    This morning, I went to the TelerifiQo, cable car half way up a mountain to see a 360° view of Quito and have a go on the Swing at the top of the world, as it's known. It was breathtaking and again, I couldn't believe my luck at being here.

    I accosted some fellow tourists to share a taxi as I don't like paying the same rate as 4 people, just because I am alone ( although I understand why it's necessary for taxis). I had a last minute visit to the Basilica del Voto Nacional which is modelled on Notre Dame, Paris.

    And now en route to Baños de Santa Agua, my next base for a week.
    Read more