Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 89

    Who's 50???

    1 settembre 2023, Ecuador ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    I celebrated my birthday on 4th September knowing I would be traveling on the 5th....I started with a kayak ride around Tintoreas, again seeing penguins...I desperately wanted to see the penguins on this island (ironically this app is called Finding Penguins) and I have not been disappointed! I did some snorkeling at the local spot, Concha de Perla, meeting my mate Vanessa there.

    I convinced her to have an ice cream lunch with me but I disgraced us both with an accidental chocolate sauce spillage which went on the counter, the floor, my legs, her shoes, all over my hands and t-shirt. I ran out in shame leaving Vanessa to grab my bag and face the music.

    She then convinced me to go to her favourite beach bar and the sea were so inviting, I ran in like Bo Derek and played in the waves like a graceful sea lion. We all know that's not how it would have really looked like, but it's my blog and my birthday so I can write what I like 😏🤪

    Drinks and dinner with Vanessa, Nah and Maha, with banter, laughs and interesting conversation - a memorable and thoroughly enjoyable birthday.

    5th.... I rushed to say goodbye to my puppy friend and braved a snorkel without my beloved wetsuit (which needs to be dry for the plane). My efforts were rewarded by seeing the biggest marble ray I have ever seen, 2 large sharks and another swimming iguana. Birthday cake is in the form of two greasy pineapple empanadas covered in sugar. Mmm. I might actually have gout in my foot and an not entirely surprised after 3 months of sugar and trans-fat being a daily staple.

    In true 50 year old woman style, I arrived at Isabela Island airport so early, there was not a human being in sight. I wandered past and through all the control areas on to the runway which in itself is a bit surreal with respect to the kind of airport security to which we are accustomed.

    Whilst grimacing in the general direction of a noisy hubbub in the terminal, I realised one of 2 presidential candidates for next month's general election, walked straight past me. (Luisa Gonzales).

    The flight was cool; the only time I have been in light aircraft is to do sky dives. The plane went through 3 layers of different cloud formations but we remained low enough to see the waves, rocks and odd jumping fish. They didn't bother with safety instructions which made me laugh at how health and safety orientated we have become in the UK.

    I arrived back in San Cristobal, staying in the same Airbnb as before, welcomed like a friend. After a few tasks, I had birthday cocktails on the promenade and a nice chat with my insomniac mum and read a lot of lovely birthday messages; thank you all :-) xxx
    Leggi altro