Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Adelaide Botanic Gardens

    December 12, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    I woke up to overcast skies in my final full day in Adelaide. Light rain was forecasted for later that day. With this in mind, I decided to play it safe and explore Adelaide instead of venturing further afield to the beaches.

    My first stop of the day was the Adelaide Botanic Gardens. When we drove past the gardens on Monday, I spotted a banner advertising a free walking tour at 10.30am daily. I made my way to the gardens by bus and joined the walking tour.

    The tour took about 90 minutes and it was well worth my time because the docent took us away from the main walking paths. She showed us some plants that the indigenous people and settlers used for food, clothing, and dyes, and she also gave some history of the gardens. The highlight for me, undoubtedly, was her Koala Fart branded lotion which turned out be a eucalyptus oil. The label was funny and it even showed a 💨 coming out of the koala’s butt. Australian humor at its best.

    While at the gardens, I also took the opportunity to visit an Atlas Obscura site: the Museum of Economic Botany. I spent a bit of time looking at the exhibits and admiring the nicely restored building.
    https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/santos-muse….
    Read more