Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 128–131

    Mt. Batur and Amed

    November 29, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    Heading on to the east I decided to go to Amed, a small town known for snorkeling and diving, at Bali's north east.
    Taking a detour through the mountains, to see Mount Batur and some beautiful mountain roads and scenery was mandatory. 😅
    Took me a while to find the right paths, as I avoided the big roads, paid off with some amazing views and real nice rides through the unknown parts of Bali.
    I've been extremely lucky according to weather conditions, except of a few raindrops I didn't get wet and even had an awesome view on Mount Batur, as clods were opening up as soon as I reached it's caldera. 😍
    It's an amazing scenery, looking from the top of the caldera down into it onto Lake Batur and the impressive volcano itself.
    Took a tiny and very steep and curvy road out of the area, which gave me some more great views onto Bali's north coast from high up.
    My beloved scooter, which takes me wherever I wanna go and brings me up the steepest roads, climbed a lot of dirt roads or damaged roads, you wouldn't call "roads" anymore, finally got a name 😅: I've named him "Cepi", which is created from the Indonesian word cepat. 😬😎😉
    We've already spent close to 4.000 km together, that deserves a respectable name! (Furthermore it feels as if he already has developed some personality... 🤔😅😂)

    Amed is a small and quite touristy town, but still very relaxed and quiet, had a great time there. Interestingly my hostel was packed with other Germans, 10 out of 12 guests were German, so I ended up with a full German crew, there, for a few days. 😅🙈
    Exploring it's beaches and snorkeling at an very old japanese shipwreck were real highlights and being able to swim with a turtle was awesome. 🥰
    Furthermore the view on Bali's highest Mountain, Mt. Agung, is awesome!
    Could have stayed there for a longer time, but as my Visa limits my time and there are only <30 days left to reach Timor for leaving the country to East Timor, I had to go on.
    Read more