Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Sahagún from Ledigos; illness

    June 24, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 88 °F

    I'm behind on posting and not feeling inspired (feeling fairly miserable, honestly).

    Probably has a lot to do with feeling ill. At least five other people with whom I've been travelling (sporadically) have a stomach bug. So far, I have had a mild version: no puking on the side of the road. For that I am fortunate as the others have been forced to retreat into taxis or not proceed at all. I've been able to soldier on but the ~17km I walked today felt much longer.

    To that, add a heat wave. Temps outside right now (6pm) are in the 90°s (33°+). Tomorrow we can expect even warmer. While I do enjoy sunny summer heat, it makes sickness feel slower and heavier.

    I'd sure love to sit in a pool or river.

    The walk today was marked by the first time in Spain that I've seen fields of sunflowers in bloom. That's always a smile-maker. Also I passed into the province of León, and completed the half-way point on this amazing Camino. The terrain was generally gentle rolling hills, or flat. The towns were cute and easy to navigate.

    Upon arrival in Sahagún Bruce and I were joined by Nuria (from Barcelona) who we met earlier this week. She is also quite ill so we swapped stories on that front over a cool soda in the shade as we waited for the Albergue Santa Cruz to open. I chose this spot because the guidebook promised it would have private rooms for 20€ . It does! I am pleased to have my own space (and bathroom). It seems more conducive to rest.
    And rest I did. Normally I take a quick snooze after a shower/laundry each day but today I sacked out for nearly three hours. Much-needed.

    Upon waking I wandered out into the stiflingly hot streets to look around. The extent of my exploration was finding a mango ice cream. That brings the day's total to an orange, an apple, a coffee, a few bites of potato salad, and an ice cream cone. Not enough but I don't know that I could eat more and keep it down. Fun.

    I hope to enjoy a bath later and sleep like the dead.... Tomorrow will be a better day.
    Read more