Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Brilliant start

    January 31, 2020 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    All the arrangements worked perfectly and we are here safely. The taxi arrived on time at 3.30 and got us to the airport on time despite the M11 being closed and needing a long detour around the countryside. The assistance people at stanstead met us at the taxi drop-off and took me in a wheelchair (I wasn't complaining!) all through bag-drop, through the priority passport control and to the front of the line for security, then all the way to the gate and out to the aircraft steps. All done with perfect charm and friendliness. The Ryanair people on the plane had no idea what to with my crutches but managed to put them on the luggage rack, and a minivan was already waiting at the bottom of the steps at Jerez to whisk us to the front of the queue at passport control, get our cases in baggage reclaim and out to the front of the taxi queue. I couldn't have asked for a better service at both ends. In fact I think I'll carry crutches now every time I fly!

    The apartment is just as it was, and the weather is 20 degrees and with patchy sunshine, so lunch in a tapas bar just around the corner was lovely.
    Read more