Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Sintra - Quinta da Regaleira

    May 1, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    After lunch it was time for another UP walk to get to the Quinta - oh my legs!
    From my research I knew the Quinta was going to be a place that I wanted some time to wander and explore but the main goal was the Initiation Well. What we didn’t realize was that we would have to wait in line almost an hour to get to the well to start the winding journey down. Thankfully we headed there first and stood in line with all the others to experience this highlight. It was really very cool and on such a hot sunny day, the change in temperature was a welcome relief as we made our way to the bottom.
    At the bottom of the well are a number of tunnels to explore and we wandered around exploring never knowing what we might find around the next corner.
    We made our way back to daylight and explored some more towers and turrets until Kev called out to Bailey and I to see what he had found. We wandered back and wondered what he wanted. His simple explanation “I found a hole in the rocks and figured you guys would want to see what was inside” 😂
    He had found one of the entrances to the Labyrinth Grotto and it was so much fun! Dark and damp and twists and turns (thankfully we had flashlights on our cell phones!) I think it was truly my second favourite part to the Quinta.
    We could have easily spent hours at the Quinta (we really didn’t see so much of it) but the day was coming to an end and we were all exhausted.
    Again the plan had been to try and catch the train back to Lisbon but we opted for the slight additional cost of an Uber straight back to our hotel - best decision ever I’m pretty sure.
    Read more