Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Basalt

    May 2, 2018 in Iceland ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    Early morning start after a short sleep in our rented camper van. Alarm sounds. Sleepy eyes. Wide eyes. Fellow camper van travelers waking, eating and taking in the morning alongside our crew. An understanding of quiet amongst us. Respectful nods to and from one another as we emerge from our homes away from home; as we ready ourselves for our day of travel ahead. Mainly adults in the various camper vans nearby. Smiles and connection as our four begin to rustle and stumble outside and make noise as only children can. Unfiltered and unabashed for the littles, sleepy and a feeling of newness and adventure on the faces of the bigs.

    Chilly sunshiny morning - the view of the sea to the South, busy chattery sea birds nesting to the North in the hill just beyond the campground and our full day of adventure awaiting us to the West. Rousing children stretching, wrestling, eating, dressing and questioning. What do I wear today? Is that a puffin? What kinds of birds are these? Do I have to get up now? How do I get my clothes out of the back compartment? Can we make this bed more comfortable tonight? What's for breakfast? Can I have more juice? How do I flush the camper van toilet? Where are we headed first?

    The town of Vik coming into view - a little town nestled in below the hills to the North and West. A small fishing village with the signs of tourism showing. Renovations at the campground we are staying at. Construction of a new large hotel has begun nearby with the promise of obscuring the view of the ocean for all unlucky enough to be behind it, including the campground. A different town in some ways from our last visit.

    Breakfast duties, tidying duties, first stop of our day explained - we are ready to part from our little borrowed piece of land that housed us so safely and quietly for our first night in Iceland. Thank you, free parking lot in Vik, just beside the only campground nearby that just so happened to be closed for the winter season still.

    What are basalt columns? How are they formed? What do they look like? How far away are they? How long do we have to drive to get there? Questions answered to the best of our abilities. Wishing we had researched how basalt is formed more in depth before our travels. Wishing we could explain in more detail how volcanic activity had formed where we were headed for our first stop. Wishing we had the parenting super power to answer all questions at once, most especially when they come at you simultaneously with the expectation you will answer them expediently, efficiently and correctly.

    Can I hold the camera? It's MY turn to use the camera! It's so cold, I need my gloves. No, I don't need a coat, I'm fine. It's not that cold. I'll grab your hat just in case you decide you need it. I need my hat; it's actually really cold out! Look at the photo shoot and the model in that pretty red dress. She must be freezing! She is freezing. Look how they are warming her between takes. Be very careful of the ocean waves. Tourists have been lost at this beach because they get too close to the water. There is a big undertoe. What's an undertoe? How cold is the water? Look at the black sand! Don't climb too high! Be careful! Let's take a picture. Can you take my picture over here? Can you take my picture too? Can I take your picture? No, it's my turn to use your phone for pictures now. Why can't we climb that hill? Because the sign says you're not allowed and it's much steeper than you think. Look at the sheep way up there! Look at the picture I just took! Mom. MOM! Dad. DAD! Can we go now? Where are we going next? How long of a drive is it? Can I have a snack? What can we have? Is there any more juice?

    I wonder if there is a coffee shop we can stop at on the way out of Vik. I need another coffee. Nope, no coffee shop nearby. Snapcracklefizz of the diet coke we just cracked open. A coveted diet coke to share for the next leg of our journey. Our campervan climbs up and over the steep hill as we head West, leaving Vik behind us. "Next time we're in Vik, I'd like to go for a horseback trail ride. Or, maybe we could spend two nights and take in the beach at sunset."

    A quick stop on the way out to take a picture beside the sign "Vik" for Vic. :)

    The kids settle into snacks and a card game. Trevor and I chat about next times and last times and this time and the sunshine, as we trade turns sipping on our liquid caffeine. Day two in Iceland has begun.
    Read more