Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 75

    Day 75: Java Sea Day, Karimata Island

    March 6, Natuna Sea ⋅ ☁️ 82 °F

    Yesterday around 6:00 PM we left port; Semarang (Borobudur), Indonesia heading towards Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) Vietnam. This gives us a couple of sea days. One would think I should be able to catch up on my blogging.

    Here is today’s schedule:

    7:30 - Get up, take a shower, head towards World Cafe (Deck 7) for breakfast. I need to get up earlier like I did at the beginning of the cruise.

    8:00ish - Breakfast with Brian & Sue - I finally got my first taste of Vegemite. Brian was happy to give me a taste from the stash Sue carries in her purse. So, not only was this my first taste of Vegemite - most likely it may be my last taste as well. Brian says, “It’s an acquired taste.” He’s right!

    9:15 Head to The Restaurant (Deck 2) to be sure to get a seat for the 10:00 AM Calligraphy Workshop. People were already there when I got there 45 minutes early. Already with only a couple of hours of practice Donna and I are slowly getting better.

    11:00 Attended an informational meeting about our upcoming Mekong Delta overnight excursion in Vietnam in The Torshavn (Deck 2)

    11:45 Paul goes back to The Restaurant to get on the list for today’s Wool Felting class - Making Turtles - we must return by 12:30 or loose our spot.

    11:53 Paul & Donna head to the World Cafe (deck 7) for a very quick lunch.

    12:19 iPhone Alarm goes off - get Chocolate Cookies for Gail (our felting instructor). Yes, sucking up to the felting instructor pays dividends. She can be bought with Chocolate Chip cookies.

    12:28 With a huge leap over tables, I crossed the finish line and located a table, by the window, at The Restaurant (Deck 2). Then we started learning how to make our turtles. We will finish them up tomorrow.

    (1:00) We could have attended a Desert Wine Tasting - but signed up too late for today’s and are on the waitlist for the next one. And felting with Gail is more important to us over tasting wine. We get to taste wine every day - 24 x 7 if we want.

    2:30ish Felting class is over - Donna wants to get some steps in and I land at the Glass Table (Deck 8) in the Explorer’s Lounge and get to work on some posts.

    3:19 That is what time it is RIGHT NOW as I am writing these words.

    Today’s Crystal Ball: So, I think the plan is to get caught up on a couple of the back due blog posts, most likely dinner at the World Cafe, unless I am told otherwise, then attend the 9:00 PM show with Jennifer Gray in the Star Theater.

    I have attached a couple of pictures of our Sea Day sailing the Java Sea. We are at -1.89480 Long. 108.74611 Latitude. It’s gray skies, raining on and off, with calm seas.

    I did miss a few of the other offerings on ship during a sea day. The Spa, Dance Classes, Lectures, find a quiet place and read, play cards with friends, there are tons of things to do.

    3:39 PM. BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE!

    All of a sudden 10 of the Neptune Supermodels appear from the door behind me (on Deck 8) . Under the fine leadership of Christian the Ship’s Gemologist leads a showing of over $ 1,000,000 dollars of jewelry to the audience below on Deck 7.
    Read more