Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Tokyo

    October 17, 2014 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Japan, the land of courteous people, delicious sushi and the lightning fast bullet trains.
    You would think this metropolis is all about its tall buildings and typical city life. There is more than just the hustle and bustle in Tokyo.

    For starters, I went to Ueno Park which is actually one of the famous parks for cherry blossom viewing(or as the Japanese call it, Hanami). However, no Hanami for me as I went during autumn. Still, a very nice park. Love the colours of the leaves. The fountain had some bloomers. Went to a traditional looking ramen shop by the corner and had the best ramen ever created (Picture below. It deserved to be given a slot)

    Tsukiji Market is a must go. Now, if you get there early enough, you can watch these dudes auction off fish in the inner market. Not just tiny boring fish, but imagine those huge tuna fishes! That is around 5am. I, however, treasure my sleep so I only visited the outer market at like 9am. Good enough for me as I wasn't planning on buying fish. Just wanted to savour some fresh sushi, which was awesome.

    And then there's Akihabara. The electric town. Come here if you want to buy cheap electronics or if you are into gadgets. Even if you don't plan on buying anything, you can always visit cafes here. If you are an anime fan, you might have heard of Gundam. Yes, you geeks, there is a Gundam cafe. If you are into cutesy maid cafes or a downright pervert who has a fetish for maid costumes, then Akihabara is where you belong. Food here to me is mediocre. I'd rather eat at Tsukiji market again.

    What's all the hype about Harajuku? The weird fashionistas of course. Sadly, I didn't see any. Maybe because I went on a weekday and they were in school at the time. Alot of shops here with funny styles of clothing though. So at least I still got to see mannequins dressed up silly.

    Stayed in Asakusa for abit. A hostel called Tokyo Hutte. Very hipster with a cafe downstairs. It was nearby Tokyo Skytree so I got to see it all lighted up at night.

    Getting around is easy using public transport. I used Japan Rail Pass, so I got to use most trains/subway unlimited times a day. They are always on time. You can plan your trip accordingly when you check train schedules using www.hyperdia.com.

    Even if you are not a fan of concrete jungles (like me), you should definitely explore Tokyo at least once. Totally worth it. Especially if you have small feet like me. Shoe shopping is a breeze. I would definitely come back.
    Read more