Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 13 - Flaming Flamingo.

    April 17 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    08:20
    I sleep fitfully. My stomach has been griping and cramping through the night, and it’s woken me up on a few occasions. I give up at 07:00, and ready myself for a somewhat dull couple of hours until I can wake Vicki up. I spend a little longer than I really should wondering if I can engineer a wake up for her earlier than the agreed 09:00, but suspect this will come at a considerable cost.

    22:45
    We’re just back from the Sea Board beach party, which was great fun. Our day has been a very chilled affair. Well, apart from the drum and bass Vicki is playing when I wake up from my afternoon nap. But you know - other than that…

    I’m taking it easy on the food and booze front today, mindful that my stomach still doesn’t feel like it’s operating at full whack. Breakfast is a fairly sedate affair, and we share a pizza for lunch. I’m parsimonious when it comes to beer/wine, until 18:00, when we head down to the beach bar for a light dinner and some wine. I’m overtaken by the urge for a Penang curry. It’s not super-spicy, but has a lovely warmth and fragrance. I demolish it. We end up down on the beach watching another beautiful sunset. Just 100m up the beach from us, we can hear the Sea Board party starting to get rolling. The music is very floaty and fairly ambient in the lead up to sunset, and then starts to kick-on once the sky darkens. We’d originally planned to head back to the room, get ourselves a bit ready for our departure tomorrow, and then head out. Instead, we’re sucked in earlier.

    The set-up is great - there’s a covered dance floor with a bar to one side of it. To the other side is a little market/bazaar of local traders, selling jewellery, sunglasses, weed… The music is cranking up. It’s not quite to my taste, though Vicki loves it. A bit too glitzy house for my liking. We have a few vodkas and Manao, and I spend a delightful little while couched on a Flamingo, and people watching. The music gradually improves (for my tastes, at any rate). The temperature is dropping, which is welcome. It’s been pretty steamy today… Conscious that we’ve a *relatively* early start, and haven’t done a jot of packing yet, we head back along the beach to TropiCoco, stopping at the bar for just a couple of quick Café Patrons. They only have the ‘Incendio’ version at the beach bar, which has a little chocolate and some Arbol chilli in it. It’s not hot hot, but noticeably warm as you drink it. Very pleasant actually… We need to get ourselves sorted, so a tad grumpily head back to our bungalow.
    Read more