Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 67–72

    Istanbul

    November 22, 2023 in Turkey ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Let me try to divert my attention from the pre-flight preparations and give you an update from Istanbul!

    I really didn’t know if I would like or hate Istanbul, but I knew it would be one or the other. On the one hand, I hate touristy places with no culture, and thought I don’t like huge crowds of people generally; on the other I heard many people loved Istanbul, so there had to be something to it.

    Well on the first evening, walking from Taksim square to the busy shopping street to small alleyways, I was amazed at how different it is from Ankara. It is busy, and touristy in many places, but you can easily find authentic places in the city center and the place is very much alive. I liked it. Of course haga sofia, the blue mosque, and the highlights are beautiful to see, but the diversity of Istanbul was the most interesting to me.

    You have streets where cars are parked that cannot possibly get out. Cars dont give you any space and scooters (the small motorcycles) race through every street; luckily Im pretty good at throwing my bike in between cars and walking through red lights, but they take it to another level. Its hectic. Then you have hundreds of men (almost exclusively) fishing on the bridges —I am pretty sure there is overfishing — and fish restaurants and snack foods all next to it. And them you have hipster areas with vegan food, third wave coffee, and art stores. There is a kurdish area with there own customs (some of whom kept shouting “Yesilgöz!” When I mention the Netherlands… and sudden popup clothing markets in the evening where cheap clothing is sold on carpets. And there was a filmshoot next to my hostel for a few days, which didn’t look high tech at all, but seemed to have the entire neighbourhood involved.

    Yes, its busy, but the people that approach you can easily be shrugged off, and this cityhas much to enjoy. Oh, I didnt mention the organic market yet on Saturday, with loads, loads of fresh produce.( I bought way too much )

    Now Im going to a place where el niño is making a mess, and I hope things will work out. I will update my location in the next footprint.

    Oh, the picture? Yeah I had to go to a football match in Turkey. They go crazy over football here.
    Read more