Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    “Sea Lag” is Real

    June 3, 2022 in Iceland ⋅ ☁️ 46 °F

    When crossing the Atlantic Ocean, you may not realize the impact your sailing direction has upon the amount of sleep you get along the way.

    After all, either direction, there's a 6-hour difference between England and the east coast of America…

    By sailing, you avoid Jet Lag, but here’s the deal: When sailing from London, you gain an extra hour of sleep for 6 nights along the way.

    Conversely, when sailing from Fort Lauderdale (as we currently are), the opposite holds true; you lose an hour of sleep for 6 nights along the way.

    You can probably guess which direction I prefer! It's nice to get an extra hour of sleep for several nights.

    However, when sailing from America to Europe, you can definitely get Sea Lag - especially on this cruise since we are traveling so far north.

    Our current latitude is 56 degrees, which is the closest I've ever been to the Arctic Circle. Right now, the sun only sets from midnight to 3am or so.

    The other night, I woke up and hopped out of bed because it was so bright. It wasn't 'til I brushed my teeth that I realized it was 4 in the morning! Since then, I’ve made sure to close our blinds tightly at bedtime.
    Read more