Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Yokohama Chinatown

    October 15, 2023 in Japan ⋅ 🌧 63 °F

    Japan has three Chinatowns, but today we visited the biggest one of all. In 1859, Yokohama was among the first Japanese ports to open to foreign trade after two centuries of seclusion.

    As Chinese merchants moved to the city, a community soon grew. Today, Yokohama’s Chinatown Chikagai is a lively neighborhood cram jammed with shops and restaurants making it a popular tourist spot for Japanese and foreigners alike.

    I love Chinatowns, and this was no exception. My only regrets are that I did not take more photos and that we did not eat anything.

    The food looked and smelled amazing, but the lines were quite long. Before we knew it, it was time to walk back to the ship.

    Frankly, I got a little overwhelmed in Yokohama’s Chinatown, but in a good way. The same thing happens when I visit Middle Eastern souks; the sights, sounds, smells, and people watching flood my senses to the point where all I can do is observe.

    Among the photos here, you’ll see some panda shaped buns, Chairman Mao card decks, and Santa Claus.

    I would definitely enjoy a return trip here!
    Read more