Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Curacao Semi Sub

    January 9 in Curacao ⋅ 🌬 84 °F

    Since I’m claustrophobic, I was a little nervous about taking a semi submersible tour in Curaçao, but my love of the sea won out.

    As a precaution, I skipped my morning coffee and on the bus ride over, I decided that even if I freaked out, it was only one hour of my life. Also, since we were visiting a Curacao distillery afterward, I promised myself a drink as a reward.

    As it turned out, I did absolutely fine in the semi sub! It helped that there was a steady airflow. Seems like hot stuffy air triggers my claustrophobia.

    So if you also deal with anxiety in confined spaces, I’m letting you know that this was not bad at all.

    The hour long ride was over all too soon, in fact. Along the way we saw lots of gorgeous fish, and at one point, our guide gave us a little show by feeding the fish and blowing bubbles underwater.

    I was surprised to learn the that the resort which hosts the semi sub only charges $675 for a month long stay.

    Wouldn’t that be a nice place to bring the family? Or sequester for a month and write a book…
    Read more