Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    To Tokushima

    March 13 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 6 °C

    I tried to make a bus reservation online but it was not really possible, however I did figure out the bus route. As a result I was able to find the closest station to board the bus. It was a very nice Osaka neighborhood walk to the station. The Japanese place a decibel meter by construction sites so the public can monitor how loud the work is.

    I'm finding lots of healthy food choices available even in the 7/11s which are everywhere in the city. The warmth in the bus makes me very happy after yesterday's cold. I didn't realize how much this matters.

    Fukoshima is a very approachable small city and the have a "Vie de France" pastry shop that is to die for. I'm in trouble for sure. As a Henro I am presented with free entry to the Awaodori dance performance. I feel so good again to be on the road with just a backpack. It's the ultimate freedom and felicity.

    The tram takes me to the top of mount Bizan from where you can survey the entire conglomeration below. I walk back down the mountain to check into the hostel. In the elevator I meet other pilgrims who have done the first 4 days and are back in town, as the trail comes somewhat near here and it is apparently not uncommon to take public transportation from the trail to a hotel or hostel and back to the trail in the morning.

    They invite me along to an Onsen hot bath and dinner. A fun time where I mostly hear their stories of the trail but not much introspective conversation. It's not the Camino.

    Because of the pandemic many lodgings closed and now on the rebound there are more pilgrims than before and reservations must be made well in advance. I had my first three nights reserved but not beyond and this hostel is already full for tomorrow.
    Read more