Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Discovery & Ferry

    April 16 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Finally a sunny day. So I scheduled for the last ferry at 16:10 and made the most of my day by getting up early and going hiking right behind the hostel. That would allow me a nice shower before getting on the hydrofoil ferry and the bullet train to Kumamoto.

    The hike was exhilarating, it was so great to be completely off the beaten path, a place where no tourist goes, and for some of the spots I wouldn't be surprised if I was the first Westerner ever there, it was so far in the back. And it was all about the ferns, one of my favorite plants.

    The ferry is an amazing boat as a hydrofoil it is incredibly smooth and you can't even tell when it gets up on the foils or when it sinks in. After that I'm on the shinkansen and it's another marvel of speed and efficiency. I feel immense gratitude to be able to travel like this. Kagoshima has a nice feel to it.
    Read more