Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    DONKEYS

    September 29, 2022 in Bonaire ⋅ ☁️ 81 °F

    Today was so much fun! First I went into town to buy that shirt I wanted hahaha (I'll attach a photo), then I went to...THE DONKEY SANCTUARY! And let me tell you, it was so much better than I expected. So it's this giant piece of land where they rescue donkeys (I think there are over 700 of them!) and they have special areas for baby ones, special needs ones, and the elderly ones. The rest are free to roam around freely. First you go into the paddock to talk to a volunteer and see the baby donkeys and pet some donkeys if you like. Then you take your car and drive slowly through the vast land where donkeys come up to the car constantly and greet you and stick their heads in the windows which is hilarious and adorable. Every few feet you drive, a new group of donkeys comes over to meet you and see if you have food and feel the AC haha. I have so many photos and videos, I sadly can't post them all! (Will hopefully make a youtube video about it in the future though). They were so curious and friendly, it was funny how they just kept coming up to the car and insisting on sticking their heads in and getting in the way. It's really nicely done how they have the whole place set up. Then I finished off the day with a swim at gorgeous Te Amo Beach. I love it. Now time to finish this end of the month work!Read more