Satellite
Show on map
  • Rough Seas

    November 18, 2014, South Atlantic Ocean

    Well, they weren't kidding about items shifting in rough seas; it includes passengers in bed. Although the ocean could be much worse, the ship is rocking greatly. With each pitch, another one follows. It started sometime after midnight. The boat slid down into a trough, and I slipped down to the end of my bed. Not to worry, the next swell shot me back up to my pillow. This was repeated several times, until I got up for the morning.

    In order to stay upright, you have to be quick-handed, reaching from one rail to another. It's not wise to let go of one, without spying the next place to grasp. All activities require one dedicated hand to cling for stability. I learned this lesson quickly, after using the toilet. Trying to pull my pants up with two hands ended me back onto the toilet, when the boat lurched to one side. I immediately reorganized my approach for taking a shower.

    During breakfast, we sat on the starboard side of the boat, from where the storm was blowing in. It snowed sporadically, while the waves crashed in dramatic fashion against the hull. Sometimes the boat turned down so far into a trough, you had to look up to see the next swell towering toward the ship. By lunch, many passengers were sick, and the dining room was only about half full. I'm one of the few lucky ones, who hasn't had any problems. Kim is hanging in there, ever so grateful for the prescription patch she wears behind her ear. She has had some nausea but nothing unmanageable, yet.

    At three o'clock I joined a lecture on photography and watched several people come to the lounge clutching one, and sometimes many barf bags. The crew has placed bags all over the ship, and you are never farther than five feet from one. For me, the rocking boat is hypnotizing, and all I want to do is sleep. So, I shall. Alex says tomorrow will be calmer, as we close in on the Antarctic Peninsula.
    Read more