Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 71

    Pre Bermuda Thoughts

    November 30, 2015 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    I learned long ago not to overthink life. It’s not worth the headache and in the end you’ll be sitting on the dock for an eternity thinking through all the ‘what if’s’. Don’t get me wrong, safety and preparation are absolutely paramount. I believe in safety plans, drills, studying forecasts, and being realistic about sailing capabilities but it comes to a point where you’re either willing or not willing to accept the fact that ‘no, you’re NOT in complete control, mother nature is’. Once you pull up the anchor and point the boat out to sea; it’s you, the boat, and ocean.

    Mike has sailed from St. Thomas to Bermuda (solo) and from Bermuda to Cape Cod. He’s also delivered boats across the gulf stream and experienced gale winds (although the Captain on board called it a baby gale). Mike is a strong sailor and handy engineer. I, I’ve done a lot of my sailing around the protected coast near Boston, MA. I can handle sailing Gaia solo but I am susceptible to light seasickness. I can see how Mike was okay with going out to sea for 4-6 days….. but me…. What was I thinking?

    Well firstly, I’m pragmatic. I don’t think I’m afraid as in terrified, but I am concerned and understanding of the WCSs (Worst Case Scenarios). Mike and I share a respect for nature. We’ve both experienced our share of howling winds that knock you down while hiking Mt. Washington, we’ve both been clipped into the side of a rockface hundreds of feet up from ground. Hiking, sailing, and climbing in particular can be sobering and it’s not a sport to jump into with little more than an afterthought. Strategy, knowledge of your gear, contingency plans, and an awareness of changing landscape are ‘must haves’. This is how I approached the 630 nautical mile sail to Bermuda. Of course I was worried, but I know I’m tough, I trust my captain, and I know I trust my boat. And one last thing, I’m the adventurous type. Leading up to the day prior to departure I’d have sudden ‘realizations’ that I’d be sailing into the ocean blue for 4-6 days and it’s like a firework in my heart. I’d start grinning, my eyes would widen, and I’d shake my head in disbelief that I would actually be able to complete something so……. Rad.

    Here’s to all the fireworks that have gone off in the hearts of my fellow hikers, climbers, and sailors.

    And here’s to a safe passage.
    Read more