Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    day 2 - freycinet national park

    March 2, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    We woke up pretty late and made breakfast, in the end we left about 10 am. But everyone exept me was tired so they needed their sleep.

    We had a few nice stopping points on the way. It was all 10 or 15 minutes drive so that was really short. First a good lookout, then a kind of blowhole where the waves slashing into the rocks. That was really nice! Afterwards we went to an arch that was nice!

    Later in the afternoon we went to the remarkable cave. And it was remarkable! You could just walk all the way through the cave. It was like 50 meters long and had 3 entrances. Also over there I saw a kind of plant with green tentacles. They were moving but no idea what it was.

    We camped at the same spot as last night. I set my alarm on 2:30 am. Because by then we should be able to see the Aurora australis (southern light). And I went out of bed and there were all clouds. But I sit down anyway to see if I could see it. When I looked to the south it was just a tiny bit white. And after an half hour there were brighter white stripes slowly coming and within an 5 minutes I could see the light a lot brighter. I ran back to wake the others and we looked to the light. It was white and not green as you would expect because human eyes detect the colour differently. The light was not bright enough to make a picture of it. But we were really lucky to see it. It's not you can see that every day! And at 4 am I went to sleep again.
    Read more