Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 3

    Day 3 And More Wandering

    2. Mai 2022 in Kanada ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Today we have to pick up a package Laura ordered from Purolator, so we head off to the store. Walking by a few more shops we com across a jewelry store. We head in because I wanted to check out a tri-coloured gold ring. Not quite working for me though. We continue to perusal the ring section and find another one that I do like. So, purchase it I do! They have to size it for me and it won’t be ready until Thursday. I’ll post a picture of it then.

    As we keep walking, we pass plenty of different stores. There are plenty of restaurants from grab a quick bite to full course meals. You see jewelry stores, book stores, food markets, specialty stores for cheese, pastries, fruits and vegetables, etc. You quickly come to realize that people here don’t hop in their car and head over to a large grocery store or mega mall, they shop locally from their neighbours. This is how you create and maintain a close knit community with in a huge world class city. They have your malls and Walmarts and large chain stores but everything you need for day to day living can come from right around the corner. Neat idea, huh?

    Anyway, we continue on and find the Purolator shop and pick up her parcel. On the way back we find a crepe shop that has gluten free crepes. In we go for an early dinner. I have a crepe with chicken, mushrooms and hollandaise sauce and a latte. (I’ve already walked my 8000 step) Laura has a buckwheat crepe with veg’s, I believe. They both came with a side salad. Both were yummy! I’m glad we can find more gluten free choices here for Laura, it makes it easier to eat out. Now that we are stuffed, it is time to head back. Good thing we walk everywhere to off set the calories.

    Since this is a slow day let me tell you about the place, I’m staying in. It is only a couple of blocks from Laura’s so it is super convenient. This place s studio with only 5 stairs to walk up. The location is great! It is very central to everything in the Mont-Royale Plateau area. It is also very reasonably priced.

    First the good. The bed is super comfy and the kitchen is fully fitted out with a full size frig, stove and microwave. It is very quiet here because I am on a side street. There I parking available in the back alley which is just steps from my apartment. This will be great when I leave to take the luggage out to Laura’s car. The owner gave me the codes to get in and I had no problem with that. The place is also very clean and nothing is broken. The finishes are all high end as well. There are ample hangers in the closet for your clothes but non existent shelving.

    Now the bad. The bathroom is tiny> I mean really tiny. The shower is a decent size with a high-end rain shower combo unit. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The sink is tiny on 15” X 8”. No counter space to put a tooth brush or anything. There are no shelves to put your things on so everything stays in your toiletry bag. There aren’t any shelves in the shower either. I use bar shampoo and soap and there is no place to put them while showering. This is very inconvenient. There are no towel bars to put wet towels on to dry either. Next is the toilet. It is a large toilet with an elongated bowl. Not the toilet that should be in this bathroom! There is only 5” from the edge of the toilet to the wall there is no way to sit (or stand, depending on anatomy) and do your business. You would think that if they used a tiny sink, they could use a toilet that would allow for ease o use. Check out the pictures and have a laugh. I wish that people who rent out these units would spend a few nights in them to see how things flow. I’m only here for 4 nights, so I can make it work.
    Weiterlesen