Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Last Sunset In Naxos

    June 5, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Today is my last day in Naxos. It has indeed been an enjoyable time. My place is out in the country side by the sea but not far from what I need. We had an issue with no water this morning. I messaged the host and he immediately sent his uncle over to investigate. It seems that someone had turned off the intake valves and our cistern ran dry. It was fixed in a bit and I could get the dishes done.

    This afternoon I head back to the same beach as yesterday. I spend the afternoon alternating between cooling off and then hiding under the umbrella to keep out of the sun. I enjoy a nice lunch of stuffed portabella mushrooms and then chicken fillets with mashed carrots. The mushrooms were especially tasty as they were stuffed with bacon (Greek bacon is more like our sliced ham) and a white cheese. A wonderful combination on the pallet. The chicken was good but a little bland for my taste.

    I have said before that they don’t have stoplights here. Well, I found one! It is located on a little strip of land that connects us to the main part of town. I could figure out what it was for the entire time I was here. The lights were always green and there were no cross roads. I finally figured out what they were for while I was at the beach today. There is a small landing strip for small planes on one side of the road. The lights are to stop traffic while the plane takes off and lands. I saw a small two-seater plane yesterday very low in the sky and that is where it was headed. I didn’t think it was used anymore, guess it is.

    I head back around 5 pm to grab a shower. I have to start packing tonight since I leave in the morning. I enjoy one last dinner on the patio with a glass of wine or two (have to finish the bottle before tomorrow). Enjoy one last sunset and get some of the packing done. Tomorrow is Tinos and more adventures.

    Good night.
    Read more