Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Saint Nikolas and the Ritzy Area

    June 12, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    This morning I had brunch at a place called Jar, near the town square. It is located in a little alley way and has limited seating. I was lucky to get a table. They have a varied breakfast and lunch menu and a pleasant atmosphere. The staff are nice and attentive. I had the omelet with a frappe.

    After brunch, I went to see the church of St. Nikolas. It is a large church that is in a different part of Ermoupolis town. This is the part where wealthy merchants used to live is called the Vaporia Quarter. It is dominated by Saint Nikolas Church. There is a monument out in the courtyard. I'm not sure what it means but it looked interesting. Anybody have better Greek than me? This is a Greek Orthodox church and is beautiful. It is very much influenced by the Venetian architecture of the area. The columns in the front give it a very old world feel. The service was just getting out when I went in, so there were still people milling about. I did get some pictures though, check them out below. The church was started in 1848 and completed in 1870. It is very ornate, which seems to be in keeping with other Orthodox churches that I have seen. It also has the slate blue colouring in the ceilings.

    After the church, I proceeded to walk down some of the other streets. Here you find cobblestones and narrow walkways to the homes with glimpses of the sea. I went down one particular walkway and got a great photo of the local swimming spot. Ermoupolis does not have a beach but it does have these cement slabs that were probably used for boats and have now been re-purposed as a swimming platform. A lot of the homes in this area are being restored and turned into residence or boutique hotels. I have included a photo of the port I took on my way back to town, just so you could get an idea of how big the place is.

    It is a pleasant day out with a little overcast and a nice breeze. Thank goodness, otherwise this would have been a very hot walk. I meander back to my place and enjoy an evening at home. I love the views from my first-floor window. We have a full moon tonight and it looks very pretty shining on the water.
    Read more