Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    More Lighthouses and I saw Seals

    August 22, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Hi everyone, still here. I made it to my place in Cascumpec and it is a wonderful place. It is also a basement apartment however this place is light and airy. It is a two-bedroom with windows in all the rooms. It also has a washer and dryer, so I can get my clothes done. I found this place on AirBnB ( https://abnb.me/Fo7WjPf9Isb ). The people are very nice. This place is updated with very nice furnishings. You are on a country road so it is very quiet. You can use the backyard as well. It is pretty centrally located for exploring the north side of P.E.I.

    I head off to find some lighthouses and more. I decide to head to the North Cape first. This is the very tip of the island on this side. Surrounded by the Gulf of St. Lawrence, it is pretty isolated. There is a wind farm up here as well. This is the first one I have seen on the island. I get a few shots of the lighthouse and then head down to the beach area. There is a strip of land that is just off shore with tons of birds on it. Oh wait! Yes! I see them! My very first wild seals playing around in the water. They just look like big black lumps but when they stick their heads out it looks so cute. I have my binoculars with me and can see a whole herd of seals. They surround the strip of sand and some flop around on land while others are keeping cool in the water. I couldn’t get any photos for you because of the distance, sorry.

    I head to the next lighthouse at Tiguish Shore. This was an Acadian settlement back in the day and was a huge fishing area. There were 500 people working in the industry and this was one of the main areas for fishing back in the 1800’s. Unfortunately, the lighthouse here is in need of repair. There were two men working to repair the lighthouse the day I was there. Many of these lighthouses were decommissioned and no longer in use. I guess with modern technology these lighthouses are somewhat obsolete.

    The last lighthouse of the day is at Northport. There were actually two lighthouses there! One on shore where I was but there was another one out on another strip of land that I couldn’t get to without a boat. Both looked like they were in good condition but I think only the one farther away is still working.

    Once again, this part of the island is dotted with little villages and many farms. This looks like a working community and the people you glimpse look weathered but happy. I imagine it is a hard existence especially in the winter. However, that is what makes these communities strong with neighbours helping out each other.

    Tomorrow, I meet up with a work colleague from Dofasco. They have a place here where they spend their summers.
    Read more