Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    The Wild West has come to P.E.I.

    August 26, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Guess what I found today? Buffalo! Yep, right here in P.E.I. My hosts here at the B&B told me about the herd of buffalos just up the way. So off I go to find my big friends. I have always wanted to see them in person and I did today. Aren’t they cute? Check out the video.

    After this I went to check out lighthouses again. I went up the farthest one first which was East Point Lighthouse. It was built in 1867, it is 19.5 meters (64 feet) tall and has a fog horn as well. It has been moved twice to accommodate the fog horn building.

    Next up was the Souris East Lighthouse. This one is 14.3 meters (47 feet) tall and was built in 1880. At the same time that I was there a ferry came in from iles de la Madaleine. The Magdalen Islands are actually a part of Quebec but are closer to the Maritime provinces. The ferry ride is five hours for those of you who wish to visit.

    After all this excitement I think it is time for lunch. I checked a place out in Montague called Windows-on-the-Water. I had a lovely sole lunch and brought home some more chowder for dinner. Yes, there are pictures.

    The last but not least lighthouse today is Panmure Head Lighthouse. This one is 17.8 meters (58.4 feet) tall. It was built 1853. There is a lighthouse keeper’s house but this like all the others was automated in 1985. Although these beauties still stand to warn in coming ships of danger. The role of the lighthouse keeper is a part of history.
    Read more