Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 41

    Quebec, Old Town and History!

    17 septembre 2022, Canada ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    I’m off to see what just might be my favourite city in Canada. (Don’t tell Laura, Montreal is second best!) Quebec City is just one of those places that resonates with me. I stay in the old town because the feel and architecture are amazing. Yes, there is a lot of touristy stores but look beyond that to see the real Quebec City.

    As I leave Karen’s I weave my way up New Brunswick. Once again, the views don’t disappoint. The trees are starting to turn now and you can see some red and yellow mixed in with the green. My mind drifts to thoughts of how the seasons in Mother Nature seem to reflect the seasons of our lives. Being with Karen and reminiscing about “the old days” may also have contributed. As I’m driving, I start to think that I may now be in the autumn of my life. Slowly things are changing both physically and mentally for me as well. I don’t move as easily as I used to and I have more mature wants and needs. I don’t need the hustle and bustle of youth but a slower more relaxed ebb and flow of life. I don’t think this is a bad thing, just an evolution of time. Similar to the seasons that are changing before me. Oh, and I plan to have an ‘autumn’ of my life with all the colours blazing just like Mother Nature! Okay, enough of the sappy stuff.

    I stop for a night in a small place called: St. Louis du Ha! Ha!. Yes, that is the name, check the map. I’m off the next morning and get to Quebec around 2:00 PM. I am staying in a hotel that I got off of Booking.com. It is nothing special, just a room with a view of the river (St. Lawrence River, for those of you who don’t know where Quebec City is). It is in the old town and I can see the Chateau Frontenac from the street outside my hotel. I don’t have parking here and I have to schlep my luggage from the public parking to my hotel. (I’ll have to do better next time, and there will be a next time!) I get settled in and then head out for a walk. I love walking the old city. I stay on the upper section today. Tomorrow I may head down to the lower section. There is music coming from the lower city that lends to the atmosphere of the evening. I find a marvelous little restaurant with an open terrace that is heated! The place is called: Café Terrasse La Nouvell (https://m.facebook.com/cafelanouvellefrance). This place is marvelous. They offer a prix fixed meal with an appetizer, main and dessert. All for $31.00. Quebec is expensive but not as bad as some people think. I head back home for the night because there are more adventures to be had!
    En savoir plus