Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    On my way

    July 17, 2023 in Cambodia ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    Yesterday totally threw me off track.
    We learn a lot about WW1 and WW2 in Europe school. But nothing about the Indochina War.

    On Netflix I found a movie that I can only recommend. It corresponds 1:1 to what the history professor told us yesterday. And now I can understand the child soldiers better.

    And my guess was right. The tuktuk drivers in Phnom Penh are almost ale former Khmer Rouge.
    I left Phnom Penh early this morning and am now heading north by bus.

    While in the city large SUVs rush past homeless families, the picture now changes significantly. Simple huts, naked children, free-ranging animals and beautiful landscapes alternate. The country is poor and hardly anyone can afford school.

    During the first bus stop it becomes clear that the food on offer has also changed. Tarantulas, grasshoppers and whatnot are offered.

    What I would like to tell you is that in Cambodia you have the opportunity to try out all kinds of weapons. You can shoot with them and for about 400 dollars you can shoot a cow. These are the weapons that have already been used against people. The offer comes from none other than the military. The revenues are then such for the military. So everyone makes money with tourism in his own way.
    In the meantime I found on YouTube contributions of tourists. What I think about it, I do not have to say, that is clear.

    Cambodia will not be my favorite destination. But I am grateful, this country opens my eyes so.
    Read more