Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Gattlinburg & The Island, Pigeon Forge

    August 1, 2023 in the United States

    The drive to Gattlinburg was a mixture of country roads, busy dual carriageways, then after a wrong turn, small mountain roads. These were my favourite by far, winding their way up, up up then down, down, down. Steep drops at the side of the road and no barriers in sight. We called in at the Smoky Mountain Park for a pit stop. The scenery was beautiful, mile after mile of tree covered hills. Then we arrived in Gattlinburg. If you are British, you will immediately understand if I describe it as Blackpool on Steroids. I am pleased that I saw it, but I wouldn't be in a hurry to return. After Gattlinburg we went to The Island at Pigeon Forge. I was expecting a similar place to Gattlinburg, and it was a tourist destination action, but so much better than the previous place. The parking is free and it doesn't matter how far you are from the entrance, as there is a free road train that goes round the whole car park. The Island is fresher and cleaner and benefits from having no traffic driving round. Whereas Gattlinburg is mainly along the sidewalk of a very busy road, there are fumes and noise from the vehicles. Pigeon Forge is mainly small rides, restaurants, and shops. It also has a lovely fountain surrounded by plants, which this creates a relaxing focal point, and there is a fountain show every 30 minutes. Surrounding this area are a mass of rocking chairs, free to use, which creates a lovely family atmosphere. In the evening, a Blugrass band entertained us, all for free again. My only disappointment was that I didn't my id on me for the Moonshine tasting. At 62 years old, I am not accustomed to having to prove my age for a drink. They wouldn't even accept a photo of my passport.Read more