Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Gisborne, Bay of Plenty

    March 16 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Weather still throwing a spanner in the works, raining and quite breezy, so a relaxed morning without anything much on the agenda. When we did venture out, we found Gisborne a bit down looking. Maybe the results of the 2023 cyclone or maybe not.

    Anyway after we’d had a bit of a walk up and down the high street, we found a lovely cafe for brunch and on the way back to the car we saw a nail bar, so I treated myself to a pedicure!

    Very different from my usual at home, I sat in a big chair which the nail tech switched on and I was duly pummelled, punched and pushed in all sorts of places on my back and shoulders. Didn’t like it much, so put up with it for a bit then asked her to switch it off! She used an electric fine file thing to get the varnish off which was a bit alarming at first, hoping I’d still have some nails for her to paint! After a leg and foot massage I opted for purple varnish and after the tension of getting my flip flops back on without smudging, I was done.

    We then went into Bunnings (B&Q) to escape the rain, then got a few foodie bits. We know how to have a good time 😁

    The weather had cleared (apart from the brisk wind) by late pm so we had a wander on the beach literally right opposite our accom.

    Dinner and reruns of Mrs Maisel whilst sitting on the enormous sofa, and that was our Saturday in Gisborne. If there was something special we should have done here, we missed it!
    Read more