Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Climbing up Old Town

    March 10, 2018 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    I’ve had a very full day in Quito - mostly wandering around the Old Town. I began by hiking up to see the Panecillo, a 200 metre high hill with a statue of Madonna on the top - in which you can climb. It was a hike of mostly stairs so it was pretty brutal but the view was worth it and then I took a $2 taxi down the hill.

    From there I walked uphill to the Basilica del Vito nacional. It was one of the biggest churches I’ve ever seen. First I explored the sanctuary and then I did he climb up the clock tower and the spire. Again, lots of stairs some of which were incredibly narrow. But again the view was worth. What was neat too is that the Basilica and the Panecillo are on opposite ends of the town so I was able to see each from each end. I also stopped at the cafe which is halfway up the clock tower for some lunch. Food wasn’t great but the view was and it was good to get some energy to climb the rest. After my two climbs I was ready to take a couple hours back at the hotel to recharge myself, and my phone.

    After some rest and relaxation I headed to the Parque el Elido just a 10 min walk down the road from my hotel. In this park there are lots of markets and food stands, some cool statues. A couple playgrounds, outdoor gym equipment and lots of people. After a little wandering I sat down by a tree to read.

    Now I’m back at my hotel and have met my roommate Alex from Germany and will meet the rest of my tour mates in a couple hours.
    Read more