Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Plans change

    October 10, 2023 in Canada

    As plans are made, they change. We were heading to Kamloops today but feel we should go farther afield. So the new plan is Merritt, BC.

    It is raining hard, off and on so plans for hiking have been shelved this morning. We did stop at the Rogers pass Discovery Center and also at Giant Cedar Boardwalk, which was closed due to lack of maintenance. A good sized raven greeted us as we exited the car, swooping in low and landing closer to me than he needed to be. We walked around a little and the raven remained close. I got the idea he wanted a handout and said so to Dianne. She reminded me that it was forbidden to feed the wildlife in a National Park, and I reminded her that I’m not a rule follower like her. We found the trail mix and shared two palms full with the bird by tossing it closer to him. Some forest drama erupted when two squirrels and a blue jay came to join the snack. The raven wasn’t in a sharing mood and ran all three off. Dianne and I decided to leave before the police came.Read more