Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Weasel coffee

    February 29 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Our agriculture tour continued with a visit to the weasel coffee operation. Not what I was expecting... I thought the weasels loved to eat the coffee beans so much that they would stay close to an open air grove of coffee trees, but that is not the case. They're in a giant enclosure, kind of like a greenhouse and they're each in their own individual cages. Perhaps that's easier to collect the poop. Coffee trees were beautiful and some were in bloom with three different varieties: Robusta, Arabica, and Moca (small tree, big flower, big flavor). I ate a bean off the tree, of course, and I swear I thought it made my tongue numb but apparently that is in my mind. Coffee bean flowers smell amazing. Our guide walked us through the proper way to have a Vietnamese coffee as we sat out on the deck and looked out over the hillside. There was live music in another section of the facility and it reminded me of wine tasting in Oregon or California.

    What is weasel coffee? In our guide's words, it is weasel shit coffee. Vietnam is the 2nd largest coffee exporter with 1.5M tons annually . The trees thrive in their red, volcanic soil. Me Linh coffee garden is definitely a great place to spend an afternoon, just pass on through the tourist gift shop and make your way out to the cafe with the live music.
    Read more