Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Lavacolla

    August 28, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Today was a really nice day of rest and reflection. Leaving later in the morning meant it was much quieter on the trail. I walked happily and was able to listen to the birds and the wind in the trees. The weather continues to be a mix of clouds, light showers, and sunshine. The light rain showers are refreshing and fun in their own way.

    I made it to Lavacolla and enjoyed a quiet afternoon journaling by a fountain in the courtyard. The stream that pilgrims used to wash in is overgrown and not accessible anymore, so it was nice to sit by a fountain and feel connected to the sound of water.

    Even though I’m only 9km (5.5 miles) from Santiago, it was nice to take today to rest mentally, physically, and emotionally and integrate what I’ve learned along the way before arriving in Santiago tomorrow. It’s always interesting when I notice myself doubting whether I really need rest and thinking, “I could have just kept going.” I’m almost always grateful I decided to rest even if I could have done more.

    I’m excited to get my Compostela certificate tomorrow. It feels like I earned it - not just because I walked the obligatory 100km but because it feels like I brought my full self to the experience and have been open to the lessons and growth I’ve gained along the way.

    Thanks for following along :)
    Read more